Menu Close

Great Reads for Kids

Get Outside for Great Outdoors Month!

New Fiction

Popular Graphic Novels

Start a New Series

What to Read After Harry Potter

Award Winning Books

For book lists click the name of each award.

Caldecott Medal Books
The Caldecott Medal was named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott. It is awarded annually to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.

Newbery Medal Books
The Newbery Medal was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery. It is awarded annually to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

Coretta Scott King Award Winning Books
The Coretta Scott King Award honors African American authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults that demonstrate an appreciation of African American culture and universal human values.

California Young Reader Medal Books
The California Young Reader Medal program encourages recreational reading of popular literature among the young people of our state. California children nominate, read, and vote for the winners of the California Young Reader Medal.

John and Patricia Beatty Award
The John and Patricia Beatty Award honors the author of a distinguished book for children or young adults that best promotes an awareness of California and its people.