Menu Close

California State Library Parks Pass

Check out a FREE California State Library Parks Pass with your El Dorado County Library card!

The California State Library Parks Pass program allows patrons to check out a free California State Parks day use pass. The pass will be valid for one passenger vehicle with capacity of nine people or less, or one highway licensed motorcycle.

Check the availability of a pass!

State Parks within El Dorado County

  • Auburn State Recreation Area
  • Folsom Lake State Recreation Area
  • Marshall Gold Discovery State Historic Park
  • D. L. Bliss State Park
  • Ed Z'berg Sugar Pine Point State Park
  • Emerald Bay State Park
  • Washoe Meadows State Park

State Parks nearby El Dorado County

  • Burton Creek State Park
  • Calaveras Big Trees State Park
  • Columbia State Historic Park
  • Donner Memorial State Park
  • Grover Hot Springs State Park
  • Lake Oroville State Rec Area
  • Malakoff Diggins State Historic Park
  • Mono Lake Tufa State Natural Reserve
  • Mount Diablo State Park
  • South Yuba River State Park
  • Sugarloaf Ridge State Park
  • Tahoe State Recreation Area
  • Turlock Lake State Rec Area

Map of all state parks participating in the California State Library Parks Pass program

FAQs

In partnership with the First Partner’s Office and the California State Library, the California State Library Parks Pass program allows library patrons to check out a free vehicle day use entry for one passenger vehicle with capacity of nine people or less or one highway licensed motorcycle at 200+ participating state parks.

The Library Parks Pass can be checked out for 7 days, they are not renewable. If the Library Parks Pass is not returned to the library by the due date it will be decommissioned by the State Parks making it no longer valid.

Some Library Parks Passes can be placed on hold and some are available on a first come first serve basis. Check the availability of a Parks Pass and/or place a hold here or you can call your local library for assistance. Please note we can not guarantee the hold will be available when you need it for a planned trip.

Please return the Parks Pass to the library service desk. Do not put them into the library's drop boxes.

Yes, overdue fines are $0.25 per day per item up to a maximum of $5 per item. If the Library Parks Pass is not returned to the library by the due date it will be decommissioned by the State Parks making it no longer valid.

Please contact your local El Dorado County Library and let us know your pass was lost or stolen.

No, but the Library Parks Pass is valid at over 200 participating state parks. See the California State Library's map of participating state parks.

It is not valid at units operated by federal and local government, private agencies or concessionaires, state vehicular recreation areas, parks not open to the public, for per-person entry or tour fees (such as museums), or at parks that do not require a day-use pass. See a list of ineligible parks and full terms and conditions.

No. The pass entitles the user to a free vehicle day use entry for one passenger vehicle with capacity of nine people or less or one highway licensed motorcycle at 200+ participating state park units.

The pass is not valid for per-person entry or tour fees (such as museums), boat use, group use or sites, special events, additional/extra vehicle fees, sanitation disposal use or for supplemental fees. A list of ineligible park units and full terms and conditions is available at CheckOutCAStateParks.com.

Fill out an application at any El Dorado County Library, or complete and print out an online library card application, and bring it to the library during open hours. A valid photo identification will also be required to get your library card.

Adult Library Card Application
Child Library Card Application (birth - 17 years old)
For juveniles a parent or guardian must accompany the child, complete the library card application and show acceptable photo identification.

EXPLORE MORE!

Outdoor books for young kids